Scholars and Staff at the V-Dem Institute

Director

Overall management of the V-Dem Institute's activities.

Staffan I. Lindberg
Director
sil@v-dem.net

Assistant Professor

Assistant Professor working within various research programs at the V-Dem Institute.

Vanessa Boese
Assistant Professor
vanessa.boese@v-dem.net

Program Management Unit

Overall management of the Institute’s activities, including financial management, administration, human resources, outreach, data collection infrastructure and program support.

Garry Hindle
Managing Director
garry.hindle@v-dem.net

Coordinates all activities taking place at the V-Dem Institute. Oversees the expert coded data collection procedure.
Josefine Pernes
Program and Finance Director
josefine.pernes@v-dem.net

Has the overall responsibility for strategic and operational financial planning at the Institute. Program Manager for Demscore.
Nazifa Alizada
Operations and Outreach Manager
nazifa.alizada@v-dem.net

Responsible for outreach and communications, coordination of institute activities as well as organization of conferences. Oversees the expert coded data collection procedure.
Natalia Natsika
Program and Research Assistant
natalia.natsika@v-dem.net

Involved in research programs and program activities at the V-Dem Institute; data collection, reports, organizational and administrative tasks.

Data Management Unit

Overall coordination of the data collection, processing and quality control of the V-Dem data. This includes among other things: collection, cleaning and regular checks of the data as well as running V-Dem’s Bayesian Item Response Theory Measurement Model and the construction of the V-Dem dataset.

Lisa Gastaldi
Data Analyst and Program Coordinator
lisa.gastaldi@v-dem.net

Responsible for the overall coordination of the data collection as well as processing and quality controls of the data. Data Analyst and Program Coordinator for Demscore.
Johannes von Römer
Research Software Engineer
johannes.roemer@v-dem.net

In charge of the processing of the data, developing and running the Measurement Model, and compiling the dataset. Data Scientist for Demscore.
Sandra Grahn
Analyst and Junior Data Manager
sandra.grahn@v-dem.net

Assists with the coordination of the data collection, the processing of the data, developing and running the Measurement Model, and compiling the V-Dem dataset.
Oskar Rydén
Data Scientist and Data Manager
oskar.ryden@gu.se

In charge of the processing of the data, developing and running the Measurement Model, and compiling the dataset.

Research Assistant

Support to data collection processes, research programs, policy work and collaborations.

Martin Lundstedt
Research Assistant
martin.lundstedt@v-dem.net

Primarily works on the FASDEM and Case for Democracy research projects, and previously worked on the Pandemic Backsliding project. Also provides general research assistance at the V-Dem Institute.

Postdoctoral Research Fellows

Post-Docs working within various research programs at the V-Dem Institute.

Kelly Morrison
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
kelly.morrison@v-dem.net

Yuko Sato
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
yuko.sato@v-dem.net

V-Dem Institute Research Associates

Scholars associated with the V-Dem Institute’s research programs.

Abdalhadi Alijla
Research Associate
a.ijla@daad-alumni.de

Research Associate 2016-present.
Amanda Edgell
Research Associate
amanda.edgell@v-dem.net

Research Associate 2019-present.
Sebastian Hellmeier
Research Associate
sebastian.hellmeier@wzb.eu

Research Associate 2021-present.
Jean Lachapelle
Research Associate
jean.lachapelle@stv.uio.no​

Research Associate 2021-present.
Juraj Medzihorsky
Research Associate
juraj.medzihorsky@v-dem.net

Research Associate 2020-present.
Eitan Tzelgov
Research Associate
eitan.tzelgov@v-dem.net

Research Associate 2015-present.
Yi-Ting Wang
Research Associate
yiting.wang@v-dem.net

Research Associate 2015-present.
Matthew Wilson
Research Associate
matthew.wilson@v-dem.net

Research Associate 2018-present.

Former Researchers

Former scholars at the V-Dem Institute. This section is currently under construction, more scholars will be added shortly.

Anna Lührmann
Minister of State for Europe at the Federal Foreign Office, Germany

2018 to 2020: Deputy Director of the Varieties of Democracy Institute.

2015 to 2018: Postdoctorate studies at the Varieties of Democracy Institute.
Seraphine Maerz
Research Fellow at the Goethe University in Frankfurt, Germany

2020-2021: Deputy Director of the Varieties of Democracy Institute.

2019-2021: Assistant Professor, V-Dem Institute & Department of Political Science
Sebastian Hellmeier
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, WZB
sebastian.hellmeier@wzb.eu

2021-present: Research Associate at the V-Dem Institute.

2019-2021: Postdoctorate studies at the V-Dem Institute.
Jean Lachapelle
Assistant Professor, University of Oslo
jean.lachapelle@stv.uio.no​

2021-present: Research Associate at the V-Dem Institute.
2019-2021: Postdoctorate studies at the V-Dem Institute.

PhD Students

PhD students at the Department of Political Science, University of Gothenburg, connected to the Institute's activities and work.

Taiwo Ayodeji Ahmed
Doctoral Research Assistant
taiwo.ahmed@gu.se

Adea Gafuri
Doctoral Research Assistant
adea.gafuri@gu.se

Berker Kavasoglu
Doctoral Research Assistant
berker.kavasoglu@gu.se

Valeriya Mechkova
Doctoral Research Assistant
valeriya.mechkova@gu.se